Try the World Review March 2015- Marrakesh Box + COUPON CODE

Try the World March 2015 "Marrakesh" Box

Try the World March 2015 “Marrakesh” Box

One of my favorite things about traveling is sampling the local cuisine which is the idea behind Try the World— a subscription box service I’ve been eyeballing for awhile! Their team of travelers and local experts curate each box with products they feel best represent that box’s location theme.

 

Try the World March 2015

Try the World March 2015

Try the World generously asked me if I’d be interested in reviewing a box, so I was excited! I haven’t traveled anywhere for awhile, so this way I could get a little of what I’ve been missing delivered right to my house. Subscriptions are bi-monthly, and the theme for this one is “Marrakesh”.

 

Try the World March 2015 First Glimpse

Try the World March 2015 First Glimpse

Try the World ships to both the USA and Canada and I had so much fun opening the box when it arrived! It was so heavy!

 

Try the World Marrakesh Information Card

Try the World Marrakesh Information Card

Try the World comes with an information card, detailing the products in the box, along with a culture guide. The culture guide contains information about this city in Morocco, plus recipe inspiration for the products in the box and beyond including: Ghoriba Almond Macaroons and Marrakesh Stew.

 

Mustaphas Mediterranian Preserved Lemon Confit

Mustaphas Mediterranian Preserved Lemon Confit

Mustaphas Mediterranian Preserved Lemon Confit This was interesting. At first glance, I assumed it to be lemon preserves, but it’s actually more like pickled and preserved lemons. I took a taste and it’s not sweet, but more tangy. I looked on the website and there’s some recipes to try with them that I’m really interested in like this salad!

 

Mediterranean Gourmet Ras-el-hanout blend

Mediterranean Gourmet Ras-el-hanout blend

Mediterranean Gourmet Ras-el-hanout blend This is a blend of herbs containing, rosebuds, coriander, cinnamon and fennel amongst others. The card says it’s really delicious to rub on meat or to add to rice or couscous.

 

Sultan Sardines in Oil

Sultan Sardines in Oil

Sultan Sardines in Oil I have never ever ever eaten a sardine! I’m a little scared! I’ve eaten anchovies quite a bit… are they quite similar? Morocco is the largest exporter of canned sardines in the world, so I feel that if I ever were to try a sardine, I should try from this brand. The card says that they go well on sandwiches or couscous. I may have to look up a recipe because I’m not sure if I can flat out eat them or not :)

 

Villa Jerada Kefta rub

Villa Jerada Kefta rub

Villa Jerada Kefta Rub This rub is supposed to be awesome to rub on any meat to make kefta (Moroccan meatballs). I’ve never made meatballs before, so this is something I’d be interested in trying out.

 

Dip and Scoop Culinary Argan Oil

Dip and Scoop Culinary Argan Oil

Dip and Scoop Culinary Argan Oil This is a culinary Argan oil with so many uses… from dipping bread to grilling veggies, to topping off fish dishes or pouring in soup. I know I’m definitely going to get full use out of this!

 

Mediterranean Gourmet Harissa Sauce

Mediterranean Gourmet Harissa Sauce

Mediterranean Gourmet Harissa Sauce This can be used in recipes or as a condiment and I’m pretty excited to try it. It’s made with ground chili peppers and cumin and coriander and you can mix it in with quinoa and couscous to liven it up. It just tried a bit of it and zesty would be the best word to describe it! It’s packed with flavor and I can’t wait to make something with it.

 

Try the World is $39 and you receive a box every 60 days. You can sign up here if you like!

SPECIALS:

All new subscribers will get the Marrakesh box AND a free Paris Box!

freebox

Use the Coupon code: LEAPFROGTRAVELS to receive 30% off your subscription!

So this was what was in my Try the World this month… what do you think? I think I’m going to start with the Harissa Sauce and go from there!

Disclosure: Although I was compensated for a product or service in exchange for a review, all words and opinions are my own. This post contains affiliate links.

top_mommy_blogs_signature_banner

blog sig

20 Responses to Try the World Review March 2015- Marrakesh Box + COUPON CODE

  1. Amanda Huggankiss says:

    Oh, I just cannot wait to get my hands on the Kefta rub! When you put the rub on the meat it just comes bursting with flavor!

    Also, the Moroccan Harrisa…is that like Ketchup meets Sriracha?

    Great review!

  2. Suzie says:

    Now that is super interesting. I could see how I could even tie that into homeschooling. Great box review girl!

  3. Lara says:

    whoa this is cool! I’ve never even heard of this! I love to try new things. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to travel much. Sigh, One day! LOL

  4. Akaleistar says:

    This looks like a fantastic subscription! I love cooking, and it would be fun to try some food from around the world.

  5. Stacie says:

    Out of all the subscription boxes you have reviewed, I think this is the most interesting. It might be fun to try something different, every once in a while.

  6. Hmm, this looks interesting. Not sure this box is for me. While I love ethnic food and grew up eating all kinds of food not too sure about this one. #productreviewparty

  7. Louida says:

    Very interesting stuff you got in your box. Unsure if some of the stuff you’ve received is something I would eat. #ProductReviewParty

  8. oh my goodness, this is a great box. I recently signed up with Graze.com and can’t wait to try it this weekend. #ProductReviewMom

  9. Thats really nice , I would love to receive a kit of goodies every month. It would be great to try all those new flavors. This is a great one for the whole family.

  10. Vicki says:

    I just received my “Marrakesh” box and only two items (Kefta rub and Argan oil) were the same. I did also get sardines, though different than the ones described here. Also a different sauce (a couscous sauce instead of harissa), no spice blend, no lemons. Couscous and some little cookies instead. Hard to recommend to others when one is not sure what they will receive.

  11. SBO says:

    This place is a wonderful.