May 2014 Birchbox Review- Freewheeling Theme

Disclosure- This post contains referral links

May 2014 Birchbox subscription

May 2014 Birchbox subscription

If I may quote Liz Lemon: “Blurg”.  My Birchbox was delayed for May which was disappointing.  I’ve never had this happen to me before and Birchbox was really good about this blunder and awarded me 100 BB points without even a single peep, prompting or complaint from me. Unfortunately, though, this delay meant that I wasn’t able to get my review up until June because I was in Vegas!  Better late than never, though.

Outside of the May 2014 Birchbox

Outside of the May 2014 Birchbox

In case you aren’t familiar, Birchbox is a subscription box service where you receive 4-6 beauty and lifestyle samples delivered to your mailbox every month. Boxes usually consist of samples, deluxe samples, and sometimes full-sized products. (To view my past Birchbox reviews, click here.)

Febrary 2014 Birchbox

Box inside the Box

One of the perks of being a Birchbox subscriber is their awesome reward system. Every 100 points you receive equals $10 you can spend in the Birchbox shop on full-sized products. I still have NOT spent any of my points! Like I stated above, I just got an extra 100 for this month being delayed so instead of hoarding them, I might want to get cracking on that. (Points expire within a year being issued)

May 2014 Birchbox- First Impression

May 2014 Birchbox- First Impression

One way to receive reward points is to review the samples you receive in your Birchbox. For each review you submit, you receive 10 Birchbox points. So, for instance, I received 5 products this month. That is 50 points I’ll be receiving just for reviews which equals $5.  So as you can see, they’re really easy to accumulate.

A few other ways to receive points: If you sign up for a  3,6, or 12 month subscription, if you refer friends to subscribe, or by shopping in the Birchbox shop.

May 2014 Birchbox Freewheeling

May 2014 Birchbox Freewheeling Theme

The May 2014 Birchbox Theme was “Freewheeling”. (I just love the yellow, blue and black-striped color scheme!). Basically, the card states that this is the time of year when everything and everyone wakes up and starts bursting into action

May 2014 Birchbox info card

May 2014 Birchbox info card

 

Caudalie Polyphenol c16 Overnight Detox Oil  ($1.73)- I put this stuff on my face overnight when I returned from Vegas. My skin is used to more moisture in the air because I live in Missouri and just the week in Vegas reeked a bit of havoc on my skin. I should have planned better with packing a slightly different skincare routine!

Caudalie polyphenol C15 Overnight Detox Oil

Caudalie polyphenol C15 Overnight Detox Oil

 

Coola Environmental Repair Plus Radical Recovery After-Sun Lotion ($2.67)- I just received a Coola product in my Birchbox 2 months ago, so I was a bit surprised to see the same brand again! Different product, though.  This is an after-sun lotion.  I do really appreciate what after-sun balms and lotions do for my skin and how they make me feel. But I’m just not a HUGE fan of receiving that stuff in subscription boxes. Prefer just to shop for it myself.  But that’s okay. It’s pool season and this will come in handy.

coola after-sun lotion

Coola after-sun lotion

 

Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm ($8.00)- I cheated and took a sneak peek of what I’d be receiving once I heard my box was shipped, and was thrilled to see I was getting this lip balm!  Unfortunately the coral color that arrived isn’t my type, so (insert sad violin music) I will have to pass it along to someone else who will cherish it.

Pixi Shea Butter lip balm

Pixi Shea Butter lip balm

 

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Foundation Primer ($9.00)- I was most excited to get this! I’ve tried this particular face primer before and LOVE it.  I was pleased with the size of this sample, as well. It was about 1/4 the size of a regular tube.

Smashbox Photo FinishPrimer

Smashbox Photo FinishPrimer

 

SmartyPants Vitamins ($.50)- These vitamins are all-in-one designed to fill you up for weight management. The taste is pretty good. I never buy the gummy kind vitamins. I’m just old school like that, so whenever I sample some, I feel like I’m indulging in a treat, here…  woot!

Smarty Pants Vitamins

Smarty Pants Vitamins

So after totaling everything in my May Birchbox, I reached a total of $21.90. If I include the products I review on the site, that’s an extra $5 which brings the GRAND total worth to $26.90.

Are you a Birchbox subscriber?  What box did you receive for May?

If you aren’t a subscriber, subscriptions are $10/month and you can click here to learn more about it if you’d like!

blog sig

5 Responses to May 2014 Birchbox Review- Freewheeling Theme

  1. Victoria says:

    I have heard of Birch Box before. Based on the items you received this is something I need to invest in. #ProductReviewParty

    • Celeste says:

      It’s definitely fun to discover new brands this way, Victoria and it’s like a little treat in my mailbox every month :)

  2. I don’t subscribe to Birchbox but I for sure would love to try out that Smashbox primer! That detox oil looks like it would be great for my skin too! #ProductReviewParty

  3. staciebra says:

    I see a lot of people reviewing Birchbo,x but I had know idea about that the points. That would be a plus for me!