May 2014 Beauty Box 5 Review

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links.

May 2014 Beauty Box 5 Review

May 2014 Beauty Box 5

I recently won a giveaway over at the blog Beauty Under 10 for a three-month Beauty Box 5 subscription and my first box came just a few days ago!

May 2014 Beauty Box 5

May 2014 Beauty Box 5

Beauty Box 5 is a subscription box program which features 4-5 sample or full-sized beauty products. The samples can range from drug store to higher-end and may consist of a variety of fragrances, cosmetics, skincare, hair care or body care.

The first glimpse inside

The first glimpse inside

The first impression I received when I opened the box was that it reminded me a whole lot of Birchbox. The boxes are roughly the same size and they both come with similar information cards.

Beauty Box 5 May 2014 Information Card

Information Card Theme: Fresh and Focused

The theme for this month’s BeautyBox 5 is “Fresh and Focused”. The blurb on the front of the card suggests that this box contains products designed to give subscribers a refreshing “pick-me-up”.

MaskerAid Hydrating Facial Sheet Mask

MaskerAid Hydrating Facial Sheet Mask

MaskerAid Hydrating Facial Sheet Mask ($5.99)- I noticed Beauty Box 5 sent out a variety of these masks this month. The one I received was “Detox Diva” designed to cleanse, exfoliate and detoxify. This isn’t your typical mask that you slather all over your face. It’s one of those neato ones that you unfold and place on your face like… wait for it… a mask!  What I like about this mask is that it exfoliates without a harsh scrub and is paraben free, sulfate free, vegan friendly, eco friendly… you get my drift.  All of the good stuff, none of the bad.

H2O Plus Aqualibrium Marine Cleansing Gel

H2O Plus Aqualibrium Marine Cleansing Gel

H2o Plus Aqualibrium Marine Cleansing Gel ($1.20)- I haven’t used this yet because I’m going out of town shortly and thought this would be the perfect travel-size for me to pack along. So, perfect timing!

Ban Total Refresh Cooling Body Cloths

Ban Total Refresh Cooling Body Cloths

Ban Total Refresh Cooling Body Cloths ($.87)- Well, I’m just not sure what to think about these. I’ve never used underarm wipes before and I’m trying to wrap my mind around the concept. I’m a little old-fashioned and to be honest, this newfangled technology makes me nervous! I’ll probably pack them on my trip as well. We’ll be going to an amusement park which will allow me plenty of time to get my perspiration on. And I’ll just be with my family, so if these don’t live up to what they’re supposed to do, eh… they’ll just have to deal with it.

Harvey Prince "Hello"

Harvey Prince “Hello”

Harvey Prince “Hello” Fragrance ($2)- Boo… I was so anxious to try this because I’ve read so many wonderful reviews about it, but the fragrance just doesn’t work with my body chemistry.  You know how certain scents smell lovely on some people and not so hot on others?  Bummed out!

Cattiva Precisione Eye Liner

Cattiva Precisione Eye Liner

CATTIVA Precisione Eye Liner ($20)- Three cheers for a FULL-sized $20 eye liner in a box that costs way less than that! Unfortunately, I currently have a surplus of black eyeliner right now, which isn’t usually even an eye liner color that I wear frequently, so I will probably give this one away.

May 2014 Beauty Box 5 Review 3

May 2014 Beauty Box 5

My calculation for the value of samples received in this box is $30.06 which is well over the $12 is costs per month to subscribe.

So, my final thoughts for my first Beauty Box Five box are that while I did think this box was nice and diverse, I couldn’t personally use some of it, so I’m slightly on the bummed side. However, I’m well aware that because the fun of a subscription box is in the surprise, not every month can be a winner for ever single person, so I’m curious to see what next month brings.

If you’re interested in signing up for Beauty Box 5, you can find more information here if you’d like. It’s $12/month (or $8.25/month with a year subscription)

Do you receive Beauty Box Five? Did you get anything different in your box this month?

blog sig

6 Responses to May 2014 Beauty Box 5 Review

  1. Celeste, The body wipes are interesting. Do they contain a deodorant? I have never seen a product like this.

  2. Louida says:

    I love trying out skincare products so this beauty box looks like it has some good stuff in it. Thanks for your honesty Celeste. #ProductReviewParty

  3. Stacie says:

    A three month subscription box is a pretty good prize! Enjoy all of your goodies #productreviewparty.

  4. Tory says:

    This looks awesome! I subscribe to Ipsy but Ill have to check out beauty box 5!