June 2014 Birchbox Review- Away We Go Theme + Coupon Code

Disclosure: This post contains referral links

June 2014 Birchbox

June 2014 Birchbox

My June Birchbox came ahead of the expected delivery date this month! (If you recall, last month, there was a fluke and a huge delay!)  When I retrieved it from the mailbox, my initial impression was that it was the heaviest Birchbox I’ve received to date, so I was really excited to open it!

(**Heads up.. two valuable coupon codes are at the bottom of this post**)

Outside of the June 2014 Birchbox

Outside of the box

In case you aren’t familiar, Birchbox is a subscription box service where you receive 4-6 beauty and lifestyle samples delivered to your mailbox every month. Boxes usually consist of samples, deluxe samples, and sometimes full-sized products. (To view my past Birchbox reviews, click here.)

April 2014 Birchbox box

The actual Birchbox inside

One of the perks of being a Birchbox subscriber is their awesome reward point system. Every 100 points you receive equals $10 you can spend in the Birchbox shop on full-sized products. I am still hoarding those points like a little squirrel. I’m storing them up nice and good to use with a coupon code, and don’t worry, I’ll post what I spend them on.  Points expire within a year being issued, so I won’t hold on to them forever!

June Birchbox First Look

June 2014 Birchbox First Look– Dang! That’s a full box! Hurrah!

One way to receive reward points is to review the samples you receive in your Birchbox. For each review you submit, you receive 10 Birchbox points. So, for instance, I received 5 products this month. That is 50 points I’ll be receiving just for reviews which equals $5.  So as you can see, they’re really easy to accumulate.

A few other ways to receive points: If you sign up for a  3,6, or 12 month subscription, if you refer friends to subscribe, or by shopping in the Birchbox shop.

June 2014 Birchbox Away We Go Theme

June 2014 Birchbox Away We Go Theme

The June 2014 theme is “Away We Go”, so the box this month specializes in travel friendly products.

June 2014 Birchbox Contents List

June 2014 Birchbox Contents List

Some months I will receive a “Lifestyle extra” as one of my items like tea or vitamins, but as you can see, this month the box was just packed full of the meatier items. (yessss!!!)

—-

 Birchbox Contents:

Catherine Melandrino Style de Paris Fragrance ($6.47) – Some people don’t care to receive fragrances in their subscription boxes. I am not one of those people, and I LOVE this fragrance.  Well, I love parts of it. The top notes are super delicious fruity citrus.  For some reason, the middle notes I’m just a little unsure if I care for. I do usually love fruity florals, but something about the mixture doesn’t particularly agree with me.  However, the bottom notes  (when the fragrance is dwindling down) which are amber and jasmine are really my cup of tea and smell very mellow and smooth. I’m going to give this fragrance a few wears to see if I can adjust to the middle notes and if so, put it on an anniversary gift wish list :)

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris

 

Coastal Scents Revealed 2 Palette Set ($2.72) – These are the size and type of eyeshadow samples I can get on board with. Most of the time when I get shadow samples, they’re on the little paper cards. Huge fan of the sampler assortment color scheme, as well!

Coastal Scents Revealed 2 Palette Set

Coastal Scents Revealed 2 Palette Set

 

 

Davines Love Smoothing Shampoo– ($7.50)

Davines Love Smoothing Conditioner – ($1.41)

Davines OI All in One Milk– ($.80)

I got this brand in my Birchbox a couple months ago and loved the texture and the way it was scented. However, I reviewed that while I liked it, I was a little bummed that it was a volume booster (something I don’t need). But this month I was really thrilled that the Birchbox gods must be stalking me because they sent me the set for frizzy hair!  And I LOVE the shampoo and conditioner. The fragrance is clean. And the texture of the conditioner is whipped and soft.  My only complaint is that I received a huge bottle of the shampoo which is totally awesome, but I can only get 1 use out of the conditioner.

The All in One Milk did what it was supposed to do, but I’m a little brand loyal to a similar product and didn’t persuade me to switch.

Davines Hair Collection

Davines Hair Collection

 

 

Gilchrist & Soames London Collection Body Lotion ($3.00) – I can always use lotions and am a big fan if they’re packed with antioxidants. Nice sized bottle here, too!

Gilchrist & Soames London Collection Body Lotion

Gilchrist & Soames London Collection Body Lotion

 

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator ($5.60)- This is a nice-sized sample as well! It’s meant to be a tired-skin buffer. It is hard to give skincare reviews without longer usage, but after I washed my face with this, my skin did feel clean and it wasn’t harsh. That being said, the instructions state to use three to five times a week, but I would shoot for around the lower end of that spectrum if I were to add this into my cleansing routine.

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

 

Conclusion

June’s Birchbox worth ended up being $27.23.  If I include the points’ worth for the products I review on the site, that’s an extra $5 which brings the GRAND total worth to $32.23. I’m a huge hair, skincare, and fragrance buff, so this box was right up my alley!

Are you a Birchbox subscriber?  What did you receive in your June box?

If you aren’t a subscriber, subscriptions are $10/month and you can click here to learn more about it if you’d like!

**Heads up!  Until 6/23, if you sign up to join Birchbox, you can receive an EXTRA goody in your first box. Use checkout code “SUMMERSHAVE” to receive a free Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Grapefruit or “SUMMERLIP” to receive a free Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Nude Lip Stain. This is available for women’s box billable monthly service and women’s annual box subscription service.

blog sig

10 Responses to June 2014 Birchbox Review- Away We Go Theme + Coupon Code

  1. myrefrieddreams says:

    You got a great box! I’m dying to try that perfume… Anything with jasmine is usually right up my alley. And the eyeshadow is so pretty! I did get the shampoo, conditioner and styling oil. I used shampoo this morning and I like it a lot. :)

    • Celeste says:

      Oh, the perfume smells so gorgeous. I’m really starting to fully love it! I noticed they have a shampoo, conditioner and styling oil travel set in the shop. I might scoop that up.

  2. Jen says:

    I would really like to test out the conditioner as the summer is leaving my hair dry and gnarly. Side note question, do you use a face buffer? Like thee clarisonic mia and such. I have been hearing a lot about these and wonder which is the best.

  3. Looks like some great goodies in this box. I would love to have tried out the eye shadows and also the Face Rejuvenator. I’ve been really working on my skin lately and that face mask would be great!

  4. Victoria says:

    You received a lot of great products. I think I would personally enjoy the lotion the most. #ProductReviewParty

  5. Joana_JW says:

    Sounds like something every girl want! I have heard a lot about this Birchbox subscription! I was a little skeptic earlier but I think high time even I should try this. The 100 point system is interesting and definitely something worth trying. Thanks sharing this post :)

  6. Stacie says:

    The more I see reviews on this beauty box, the more I want to buy it! Maybe I’ll try it. Well, as soon as my budget, (and the hubby) approve. 😉 #productreviewparty