February 2015 Birchbox Review: You’re my Favorite Theme

Feburary 2014 Birchbox

Feburary 2014 Birchbox

Hey…  It’s almost March!  So, let’s talk about my February Birchbox before time slips away from me!

In case you aren’t familiar, Birchbox is a subscription box service where you receive 4-6 beauty and lifestyle samples delivered to your mailbox every month. Boxes usually consist of samples, deluxe samples, and sometimes full-sized products. (To view my past Birchbox reviews, click here.)

Birchbox Outside February 2015

Outside of the Birchbox

One of the perks of being a Birchbox subscriber is their awesome reward point system. Every 100 points you receive equals $10 you can spend in the Birchbox shop on full-sized products.  Points expire within a year being issued, so you can save them up, but you can’t hoard them forever! (I redeemed a lot of mine last month!)

One way to receive reward points is to review the samples you receive in your Birchbox. For each review you submit, you receive 10 Birchbox points. So, for instance, I received 6 products this month. That is 60 points I’ll be receiving just for reviews which equals $6.  So as you can see, they’re really easy to accumulate.

Inside of Birchbox Feburary 2015

Inside of Birchbox Feburary 2015

Every month, Birchbox has a box theme.  The theme for February 2015 is “You’re my Favorite” and the information card speaks about not using the month of February just to celebrate romance, but to celebrate anybody who has cheered us on, calmed us down and made us laugh so hard we cried.  I’m not really sure what that has to do with the products in the box, but I like the idea behind it!

First Glance February 2015 Birchbox

First Glance inside

Although every month the contents of subscribers’ boxes are a surprise, you can control the type of content you receive in your boxes by filling out your profile. So as a subscriber, I can click if I enjoy hair samples more so than cosmetics, how experienced I consider myself to be with beauty products, etc, and they curate my box according to these preferences, hoping that I’ll be able to make the most out of my samples.  I think there’s somewhere between 30-50 variations of boxes each month!

Birchbox Contents:

Davines MINU Shampoo

Davines MINU Shampoo

Davines MINU Shampoo ($7.50)-I’ve tried out other Davines shampoos and conditioners and now that I’ve tried this one as well, I’m concluding that I really like this company.  This shampoo is meant to safeguard color which is exactly what I need in a shampoo. The only thing I’d change is the aroma. I like the way the Davines OI shampoo smells better.

 

Davines MINU Hair Serum

Davines MINU Hair Serum

Davines MINU Hair Serum (.96)- I haven’t gotten a chance to use this yet, but it was included as a box bonus. I think when I save up my Birchbox points, hair care from the Davines line is what I’m going to invest in.

 

Juicy Couture Hollywood Royal

Juicy Couture Hollywood Royal

Juicy Couture Hollywood Royal ($1.44)- The only Juicy Couture fragrance that I seem to like is the original. I was hoping I’d like this because I usually do well with florals, but it’s just too sweet in a candied-sweet type of way that doesn’t mesh very well with my chemistry. I think it was the marshmallow that turned me off.

 

Laura Geller GlamLash

Laura Geller GlamLash Dramatic Volumizing Mascara

Laura Geller GlamLash Dramatic Volumizing Mascara ($17.14)- Great timing!  I need new mascara AND I just switched contact lens brands to a better quality one that provides more oxygen. I’m usually really sensitive to mascaras and I’m curious to see if this new brand of lenses will make a difference. What a nice-sized sample! Check out the worth on it!

 

Marcelle Gentle Makeup remover

Marcelle Gentle Makeup Remover

Marcelle Gentle Makeup Remover ($5.00)-  This is an AWESOME sized sample, too!   Sometimes I spend the night at my girlfriend‘s house, so I think I’ll toss this in my purse for those times.

 

Parlor Moisturizing Sea Salt Spray

Parlor Moisturizing Sea Salt Spray

Parlor Moisturizing Sea Salt Spray ($4.80)- The fragrance of this was a little overwhelmingly like hair spray to me.  Overall, I prefer a spray that leaves my waves feeling a little softer and then I can spray with my desired amount of hair spray to hold them. This product makes my waves feel like they’ve been hair sprayed from the get-go.  However, the texture wasn’t as stiff as hair spray.

Conclusion:

I was REALLY impressed by the size of nearly all the samples this month. Five out of six of the samples, I’m going to get more than 5 uses out of (at least!) and three hair products is definitely up my alley because that’s what I invest most in.  Well done, Birchbox, for the month of Feb!

When I total everything up, it comes to $36.84 which is probably the most valuable Birchbox I’ve received to date and worth waaay more than the $10/month subscription price! If I factor in the $6 I get for reviewing the items on the site, it brings my total to$42.84! WOW!  Yep, Definitely keeping Birchbox!

 

Are you a Birchbox subscriber? What was your favorite in the box this month?

If you’re interested in subscribing to Birchbox, it’s $10/month and you can click here to sign up if you’d like!

top_mommy_blogs_signature_banner

Disclosure: This post contains referral links.

blog sig

8 Responses to February 2015 Birchbox Review: You’re my Favorite Theme

  1. Suzie says:

    What a great looking box girl!

  2. Medusa Jones says:

    I love me some MINU shampoo! Thanks!

  3. Gingi says:

    Everyone keeps getting these boxes!! I want one!!! – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  4. Louida says:

    You got a great box of beauty goodies! I would love to try that makeup remover. #ProductReviewParty

  5. Stacie says:

    I like the idea that subscription boxes let you accumulate points for reviews. I’d be more likely to subscribe if I knew I could earn my way to free or at least discounted boxes.

  6. I have yet to sign up for a subscription box, I however, do like reading about them. #ProductReviewMom

  7. El says:

    This looks like a decent Birchbox! And the points system is WAY better than Ipsy’s! Visiting from the Product Review Mom linky!

  8. Melissa says:

    That is a really good value! I’m a loyal Davines user. I use the MoMo and Dede detangling spray. Thanks for the review.