February 2014 Birchbox Review- Step and Repeat- US Weekly Theme

Disclosure: This post contains referral links.

February 2014 Birchbox Contents

February 2014 Birchbox Contents

Phew, the end of February always sneaks up quickly on me!  Better late than never… Here is my February Birchbox Review.

In case you aren’t familiar, Birchbox is a subscription service where, every month, you receive 4-6 beauty and lifestyle samples delivered to your mailbox.  Boxes usually consist of samples, deluxe samples, and sometimes full-sized products.  You can review the items you sample on the Birchbox website to receive points which can be redeemed for full-sized products!

Outside of the February 2014 Birchbox

Outside of the box

Upon signing up, you can fill out your personal profile which gives you the opportunity to state your hair type, skin type, etc.  Birchbox has quite a variety of boxes they send out per month (I’ve heard between 50-80 different kinds?), so they try to send you out a box they think will best fit your profile.

You can stalk your account on the Birchbox website once you get a notification of when your box ships to see what’s inside, or you can just wait until you receive it to be surprised!

Febrary 2014 Birchbox

The box inside the shipping box

The February 2014 Birchbox is a collaboration with US Weekly celebrating the awards season with goodies they feel will prep you for a red carpet look.

February 2014 Birchbox Contents Card

Contents List

I’m not going to be gracing a red carpet in the near future, but I think the point of the box is items to aid you in taking flattering photos.

Another look Inside February 2014 Birchbox

Another look inside

Contents:

Agave Healing Oil Treatment ($1.60)- I really like the way this oil smells, and I have thick, frizzy hair, so hair oil treatments are something I especially enjoy.  I didn’t find this oil to be heavy at all and you only need a little bit.  However, I don’t care for the packaging of this sample.  I can get more than one application out of it, but the cardboard packet makes it messy and hard to store away for later.

Agave Healing Oil Treatment

Agave Healing Oil Treatment

Camile Beckman Glycerine Hand Therapy: Morelia Monarch Scent ($.72) –  This little sample is going to last me quite awhile.  The formula is non-greasy and a little goes a LONG way, which is good because my hands need some extra nourishing this time of year. The fragrance is perfumey, but not over-bearing.

Camille Beckman Glycerine Hand Therapy

Camille Beckman Glycerine Hand Therapy

Ruby Wing Color Changing Nail Polish in Ride ‘Em Cowgirl ($4.69) – This is a fun party nail polish that changes to a berry-red in the sunshine.  I think my daughters are probably going to steal this from me :)

Ruby Wing Color Changing Nail Polish

Ruby Wing Color Changing Nail Polish

Smashbox Cosmetics Full Exposure Mascara ($8.16) – I was extra-happy to see this included in my box!  I am a contact lens wearer and my eyes are extra sensitive to mascaras, but not this particular one.

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara

Beauty Extra: Smashbox Cosmetics Full Exposure Palette ($=?)-  Eyeshadow card samples are just like “Meh” for me, but fortunately, I do love Smashbox and neutral eye shades are my favorites, so I’m going to let Birchbox get away with this, this time ;).

Smashbox Full Exposure Palette

Smashbox Full Exposure Palette

After totaling everything in my February Birchbox, I reached $15.17 which is more than the $10/ month it costs for a subscription, so I’m more than satisfied with that!

Are you a Birchbox subscriber?  What items did you receive in your February box?  If you aren’t a subscriber and want to be (it’s $10/month & free shipping), you can click here to learn more about it.

blog sig

10 Responses to February 2014 Birchbox Review- Step and Repeat- US Weekly Theme

  1. Louida says:

    I’m such a product junkie, I may need to look into this beauty subscription box. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh I love the sparkle polish for my toes! I so can’t wait for pedicure weather to get here!

    • Celeste says:

      Ooh, yeah… flip-flop season! Good idea. My mind didn’t even go there. My feet have been crammed in boots for ages it seems, haha.

  3. I have always wanted to sign up, just haven’t gotten around to it. There always seems like there are a few good items in each of these boxes.

  4. I so want to sign up for this. A subscription for Birchbox is my next weight goal prize (along with the blog post ideas that come with it). I’ll be sure to order through you:) 8 lbs to go!