December 2014 Birchbox Review + I redeemed BB Points!

December 2014 Birchbox

December 2014 Birchbox

I had quite the haul come in from Birchbox this month, and it’s because I finally FINALLY redeemed Birchbox points in the Birchbox shop.  I’d been hoarding them like crazy.  I’ll post what I bought after I reveal this month’s box contents!

Outside of December's Birchbox

Outside of December’s Birchbox

In case you aren’t familiar, Birchbox is a subscription box service where you receive 4-6 beauty and lifestyle samples delivered to your mailbox every month. Boxes usually consist of samples, deluxe samples, and sometimes full-sized products. (To view my past Birchbox reviews, click here.)

2014 Birchbox December

(Do you follow me on Instagram? If so, you probably saw me “Oooh and Ahh” over how pretty the Birchbox is this month.)

 

One of the perks of being a Birchbox subscriber is their awesome reward point system. Every 100 points you receive equals $10 you can spend in the Birchbox shop on full-sized products.  Points expire within a year being issued, so you can save them up, but not for forever!

One way to receive reward points is to review the samples you receive in your Birchbox. For each review you submit, you receive 10 Birchbox points. So, for instance, I received 5 products this month. That is 50 points I’ll be receiving just for reviews which equals $5.  So as you can see, they’re really easy to accumulate.

Birchbox December 2014 Theme: Decked Out

Birchbox December 2014 Theme: Decked Out

Every month, Birchbox has a box theme.  The theme for December 2014 is “Decked Out” and the information card speaks about how subscribers boxes are filled with samples designed to help us start celebrating a little early.

Birchbox December Info Card

Birchbox December 2014 Info Card

Although every month the contents of subscribers’ boxes are a surprise, you can control the type of content you receive in your boxes by filling out your profile. So as a subscriber, I can click if I enjoy hair samples more so than cosmetics, how experienced I consider myself to be with beauty products, etc, and they curate my box according to these preferences, hoping that I’ll be able to make the most out of my samples.  I think there’s somewhere between 30-50 variations of boxes each month!

December 2014 Birchbox First Glimpse

December 2014 Birchbox First Glimpse

Last month I noticed that my boxes all started sharing a common trend of hand lotions and body lotions, so I tweaked my profile a bit, hoping to get a little less of those and some more hair and beauty.

Birchbox Contents:

Amika Nourishing Mask

Amika Nourishing Mask

Amika Nourishing Mask ($2.20)- I’ve heard such great things about this product line, so was excited to see this hair mask in my box. This winter weather has my hair feeling dry and sorry, plus I’m behind on getting it trimmed, so in the meantime I’ll try this out.

Embryolisse Lait- Creme Concentre

Embryolisse Lait- Creme Concentre

Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré ($1.85)-Did anybody else grow up with their mom using Pond’s Cold Cream? In many ways, this moisturizer me of a more luxurious version of that in that it’s versatile and can be used also as a makeup remover, post shave soother, or all body moisturizer.

 

Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Gel

Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Gel

Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Gel ($3.57)- The fragrance of this was really minty and invigorating. I enjoyed it, but, in my opinion, the fragrance reminded me of something that would be marketed more towards the masculine crowd.

 

Mirenesse iCurl Secret Weapon 24HR mascara

Mirenesse iCurl Secret Weapon 24HR mascara

Mirenesse iCurl Secret Weapon 24HR Mascara ($1.42)- I don’t wear mascara very often because my contacts start pestering me even more than they normally do, but I noticed that this one is marketed as “Contact lens user friendly” and is free from alcohol parabens, synthetic fragrances, and alcohol, so I’m anxious to give it a try!

 

RUSK texture spray

RUSK texture spray

RUSK Texture Spray ($3.38)- This was a product I handed over to my mom because I don’t typically use finishing spray around here.

Conclusion:

When I add the box up this month, the total comes to $12.42 which is more than my $10/month subscription free.  If I factor in the $5 I get for reviewing the items on the site, it brings my total to $17.42. While it’s definitely not the more valuable box I’ve owned, I really enjoyed the sizes of the samples this month. They were all sizes that I can get more than one use out of which I love because it helps me form a more proper opinion as to whether I may want to purchase the item in the future.

And…ta-da!  I’ve finally redeemed Birchbox points!

Birchbox shopping spree

Like I mentioned previously, subscribers receive points just for simple things like reviewing the samples you receive in your box every month.  I’ve been hoarding mine like crazy and FINALLY redeemed them the following:

  1. It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-in Product ($19.99)- This is my go-to hair product for when I want to tame the frizz and blow style it. It protects my hair, my hair color and leaves it shiny and soft.
  2. C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve Lip Balm ($5.50)- I randomly threw this in my bag and I love it! It’s an all-purpose salve with a hint of rose, that you can use as a lip balm, cuticle salve, etc.
  3. Fekkai Technician Color Care Shampoo ($20)- Helps keep my color toned and helps it last a long longer between salon visits.  It’s pricey, but a little goes a long way for me!  Plus, the fact that I’m not spending “real” money on it helps!
  4. Fekkai Technician Color Care Conditioner ($20)- Same as the shampoo and leaves my hair soft and glossy.

So, I got all of this and was only out of pocket $5.49.  I redeemed my points on a day Birchbox was running a promo: “Spend $60, get 60 free points, plus Free Shipping”, so I took advantage of that, as well, woohoo!

Are you a Birchbox Subscriber?  What did you receive this month?

If you’re interested in subscribing to Birchbox, it’s $10/month and you can click here to sign up if you’d like!

top-mommy-blogs1Disclosure: This post contains referral links.

blog sig

One Response to December 2014 Birchbox Review + I redeemed BB Points!

  1. Julia says:

    Your review was quite delightful! I love me some BB points! Thank you!